Magisterial District Judge


More than 90% of all litigation occurs in the Courtroom of The Magisterial District Judge. Magisterial District Judge Courts are the venue for small-claims lawsuits in Civil Cases and the filing and disposition of Minor Criminal Cases (summary cases) such as Traffic Violations, Disorderly Conduct, Public Drunkenness, Truancy, Game Law Violations, and Parking Tickets.

The Magisterial District Judge also conducts preliminary hearings for all serious criminal offenders to determine which cases should be held for trial. In conjunction with the preliminary hearing, the district justice also sets and accepts bail and does arraignment of defendants after arrest. Search warrants may be issued by the District Justice.

Magisterial District Judges are Judges of the Minor Judiciary are paid by the State. They are elected for 6-year terms. Magisterial District Judges appoint their staff members. The salaries of staff and expenses of the office are paid by the county.

There are two Magisterial District Judges in Union County and two in Snyder County. (Snyder and Union Counties comprise the 17th Judicial District.)

Union County Magisterial District Judges

Magisterial District 17-3-01

Honorable Leo S. Armbruster
Union County Courthouse
Lewisburg PA 17837
Phone: (570) 524-8656
Fax: (570) 524-8698

Magisterial District 17-3-02

Honorable Jeffrey L. Mensch
Union County Government Services Building
343 Chestnut St, Ste #2.
Mifflinburg PA 17844
Phone: (570) 966-2886
Fax: (570) 966-6252


Snyder County Magisterial District Judges

Magisterial District 17-3-03

Honorable John H. Reed
US RT. 522
Selinsgrove PA 17870
Phone: (570) 374-0111
Fax: (570) 374-2771

Magisterial District 17-3-04

Honorable Lori R. Hackenberg
32 East Market Street
Middleburg PA 17842
Phone: (570) 837-4213
Fax: (570) 837-4355