Board of Commissioners

The three County Commissioners constitute the chief governing board of the county. They are responsible for policy making, fiscal management and the administration of the county. The Board of Commissioners, together with their executive staff, manages a large and diverse organization whose mission is to provide quality government services in an efficient, cost effective manner. 

On the local level, they share in the implementation of state and federally mandated programs such as children and youth services, mental health and mental retardation services, and soil conservation. They are also responsible for tax assessment and administration, emergency services and communication, planning, the conduct of elections, upkeep of county buildings and bridges, and economic development. The Commissioners serve on the Salary, Prison, Retirement, and Election Boards as well as a variety of other boards affiliated with county initiatives.  They appoint numerous county boards and commissions.

Every four years, the Republican and Democratic Party each nominate two candidates for Commissioner and three are elected guaranteeing representation from both parties. 

Contact Information

Union County Government Center
155 North 15th Street
Lewisburg, PA 17837

Phone: (570) 524-8686
Fax: (570) 524-8635

Union County Courthouse
(Annex Office staffed on a limited basis.)
103 South Second Street
Lewisburg, PA 17837

Staff: Commissioners