About Us

What we do

A primary function of the Planning Commission is to prepare a comprehensive plan. The most recent plan, Cultivating Community: A Plan for Union County’s Future was completed in 2009 and can be viewed here.  The Planning Commissions also has the responsibility for the following:

  • Administering the county subdivision and land development ordinance
  • Transportation Planning
  • Greenway and Open Space Planning 
  • Other functions of the Planning Commission include:
  • Promote the public interest in, and understanding of, planning;
  • Make recommendations to governmental, civic, and private agencies and individuals; 
  • Conduct special studies and prepare reports;
  • Review and provide comment on development plans, zoning ordinances and amendments, and comprehensive plans from municipalities in the county;
  • Track growth, new development, and land use trends; and
  • Attend, host, and sponsor educational programs on planning related issues and topics.

Who We Are

The Union County Planning Commission (UCPC) serves as an official advisory body to the County Board of Commissioners and is made up of nine citizen volunteers appointed by the Commissioners. The UCPC membership represents diverse interests and geographic areas within the county.

UCPC Membership

Donald Bowman, Chairman, Mifflinburg Borough
Susan Benfer, Vice-Chairman, Hartley Township
Gregory Prowant, White Deer Township
James Sanders, Lewis Township
Anthony Mike, Buffalo Township
Benjamin Ranck, Kelly Township
Alan Zeigler, Lewisburg Borough
Sally Farmer, New Berlin Borough

Planning Staff