March 05, 2021

USDA Designates Six Pennsylvania Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties Also Available

WASHINGTON, Feb. 24, 2021 — The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated six Pennsylvania counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Drought – June 1 – Nov. 30, 2020

Producers in the contiguous Pennsylvania counties of Armstrong, Blair, Cambria, Cameron, Clarion, Forest, Huntingdon, Indiana, Lycoming, McKean, Mifflin, Potter, Union and Warren are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 19, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.   FSA also has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

For questions or more information: Contact the Snyder/Union County FSA Office at 5702-837-0007 in Middleburg.